About the Public Policy Committee

In 2018, ~40 opioid-related bills were introduced. With so much legislative activity impacting the practice and patients of Addiction Specialists in Maryland and DC, MDDCSAM acts as an advocate for clinicians, practices, and their patients.  The Public Policy Committee is responsible for monitoring and responding to state legislative and regulatory proposals of relevance to the field, Society mission, purposes and goals.
This is the ideal committee for anyone interested in addiction advocacy and policy and in learning more about the processes by which bills become state law. Prior advocacy is not necessary for participation. Meetings are held via conference call. 

Our Chairperson

Joseph A. Adams, M.D. is Chair of the Public Policy Committee.  He is a graduate of the University of Maryland School of Medicine, and completed an Internal Medicine Residency and Faculty Development Fellowship at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. He is a diplomat of the American Board of Internal Medicine and the American Board of Addiction Medicine. Dr. Adams is the Medical Director of BD Health Services, a group of Opioid Treatment Programs in Baltimore, since 2015. He practiced primary care internal medicine in private practice and in Federally Qualified Health Centers, and has served as the Medical Director of a variety of addiction treatment programs in and around Baltimore. Dr. Adams has given hospital grand rounds presentations on office-based treatment of tobacco use disorder. In 1997 he was the President of Smoke Free Maryland, a coalition which successfully advocated for an increase in state tobacco taxes and for smoke free public places in Maryland.

Get Involved!

The Public Policy Committee welcomes new participation from MDDCSAM members throughout the year. During the Maryland legislative session, this committee meets every Tuesday at 8:30 PM during the legislative session. The session has concluded for the year, but you can still get involved. Contact us at 301.921.9078 or email us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to join the committee!